I CONFESS…

Posted: February 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
“Hi. My name is Amy
and I am a recovering 4th member of the Trinity.”
(and you respond): “Welcome Amy.”

Truth is for many many years, I was under the assumption that – when it came to my life and the life of others – my input, my views, my opinions and my well thought out strategic plans (typed, double spaced and in 12 pt Times New Roman font) was what was needed in order for the universe to revolve and for the lives of people around me to be changed (through Jesus Christ My Lord and Savior of course).

"The Trinity plus Amazing Amy"

I just knew that I knew that God had chosen ME because of my hard core life experiences, my unlimited victories, my invaluable wisdom, my impressive resume and my undeniable success rate when it came to giving others advice.

I just knew that I knew that God was impressed with me and my works. Therefore it merited an “executive position” as the fourth member of the Trinity alongside The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit (I was working on coming up with another name for the group like “Amy and The Trinity” or “The Trinity plus Amazing Amy”). I admit, I was a little intimidated by all of the responsibility that came with this honor, but because of how fabulous I knew I was (and God knew I was), I quickly realized that I could handle it.

After all, why would God put me in a position of ministering to…

  • the unlovable and undesirable?
    • to the hardest hard core youth in the world?
      • to gang members who spent more time smoked out on the block than a chimney in a snow storm?
        • to adult volunteers who had more drama than the youth I spent time with (and more than The Young and The Restless)?
          • to community leaders who’s ego was bigger than a Tsunami could ever dream of being?
            • to youth who spend more time in jail than all the combined years they have spent in school?

I’m just saying…of course God thinks I’m da bomb dot com! That’s why He chose me and not some self righteous, holier than thou Christian who is under the assumption that they have the power and ability to change people’s lives and save them from themselves (insert rolling eyes here).

And then came “Flaco” (names have been changed to protect me for putting him on blast)…

Flaco was the kid every youth worker dreaded but the kind of kid I embraced! He was a challenge…BUT NOT FOR THE 4th MEMBER of “Amy and the Trinity.” But no matter what I did, the advice I gave, the love I poured on him, the money I spent on Him, nothing was happening. This kid was not interested in doing anything but getting high and gang banging. Forget a job, forget school, forget sports…and definitely, forget God. I spent nights praying, crying and offering my solutions to my Trinitarian co-committee members…but nothing was happening.

It wasn’t until I went to church one Sunday morning and saw Flaco there with a friend of mine I had JUST introduced him to a couple of days before. I watch them from a far (only because its disrespectful to get up in the middle of the pastor preaching to make a scene). As the sermon ended, I saw Flaco in tears as my friend walked with him to the altar…where Flaco accepted Christ into his life.

I was humbled.


I was quickly reminded of Isaiah 45:5a  “I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me.”  I was reminded that “…there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”  Acts 4:12…

and the most powerful “…when I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw everyone to myself.” John 12:32.

What really humbled me was that God didn’t need me…God was already at work in Flaco’s life before I arrived on the scene. The Trinity already had a plan and a purpose for Flaco’s life. It wasn’t my job or responsibility to make it happen or “guide” his path.

There was no need for the Trinity to consult me on anything!


Just the opposite! I needed to surrender my will and seek the will of God and see how I am to FIT into the plan God had for Flaco. Too often, we believe that God has “ordained” us to be the superhero in a young person’s life. We think we have all the wisdom, the programs, the resources and the ability to change the heart and life of a young person. But the truth is all we can offer them is an uncompromising and unrelenting love that pursues them, unmovable support and a joyous introduction to the one and only God that has the power to change the heart of a person…and to change their life.

When things are not not going your way and your (HIS) young people aren’t responding, don’t be discouraged. Instead check yourself and how you see yourself in relation to the plan God has for that young person.

Are you getting in the way of God?

Are you trying to be God?

Are you trying to fix a person simply to display them on your “trophy case”?

We must work on trusting that God is involved, He is very aware of what is going on, He knows what will happen, and He (along with the Son and the Holy Spirit – excluding the 4th member who was quickly kicked out gently) are responsible for drawing the heart of men/women to a personal intimate relationship with Himself. God loves them more than you ever could…and we must know that He is big enough to take care of the Flaco’s in the world.

All we are really called to do is love…love through our words, love through our actions and love through our belief that God is our (and their) Hope…

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; 
   don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; 
   He’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all. 

Proverbs 3:5-6 (The Message)

Comments
  1. Jenni Jobe says:

    Amen! It is so important to daily remind ourselves (as youth workers) that we are simply called to say yes to being present in the lives of God’s children. Yes we will be developing programs and organizing events and spending lots of time and money on these youth, and yet we must remember that we are the ambassador not Jesus. We must know and trust our presence is simply enough as we represent Christ to these youth. Well said Amy.

  2. “The minister who does not have a Bible-based self-worth will use others to build his own worth. Rather than being a servant, he becomes a tyrant, a manipulator or just a “user” of people. Ironically, most of the manipulation that takes place in the ministry is considered to be acceptable ministerial ethics.”

    Keep up the great work Amy!

  3. sharon aller says:

    Amy, I love your hear and your passion for Jesus first and for young people second. The challenge you speak about has been lifelong for me. It is God continually calling me to purity and humility – over and over again as I get my eyes off Him and onto myself or the ministry. I am thankful he keeps me on the edge, constantly calling me closer. That is when the relationships are changed and the kids we are privileged to live life with see Jesus and want to know more. Keep up the amazing work…you are an inspiration…sharon

  4. Joe Soloman says:

    I remain in awe each time I read your posts. How amazing is it that God is leveraging your love and passion for our youth, our future. You are truly inspiring! Joe S.

Leave a Reply

